Home News Wild Additions

Wild Additions

South Florida comic among three wild card selections to the Florida's Funniest Comedian semifinal field, date for contest finals changed.

by Chuck king

UPDATED: FRIDAY, 5:17 p.m. to include West Division wildcards.

WEST PALM BEACH – Florida will learn the identity of its funniest comedian one day earlier than expected.

A surprise booking prompted the Palm Beach Improv to move the final round of the Florida’s Funniest Comedian competition to Nov. 30.

The contest will also have at least one unexpected semifinalist.

On Thursday night Florida’s Funniest organizer Rene Harte announced via social media the selection of Sarah Kenny as a wildcard, advancing her to the competition’s second round. Kenny originally competed as part of the Oct. 13 show at the Palm Beach Improv, narrowly missing becoming one of the three contestants chosen for the semifinals.

Late Friday afternoon Harte announced two West Division wildcards, Donald Evans and Chris Alexander.

Kenny is the lone female comic in the semifinals.

Three winners from the Dania and Miami Improv first-round contests advanced to the finals, as did two from the Fort Pierce region – which drew a smaller field.

The contestants for the Nov. 10 East Division semifinals, held at the Dania Improv, will be:

Nadeem Awad, Ricky Cruz, Kyle Dahl, Luis Diaz, Josh Francis, Troliver Grant, Danny Johnson, Dan Long, Sarah Kenny. John Loveless, Seetharaman “Seetha” Radhakrishnan, Nathan Wallace and Dan Weiss. Seetha actually won his semifinal seat in Naples, but the east coast-based comic is swapping sides of the bracket to aid a scheduling conflict.

Each Division now has 13 competitors.

During the semifinals, each comic will have six minutes to impress the judges with their best material, up from four minutes in the first round. Four winners from each semifinal will advance to the Nov. 30 finals.


The West Division semifinalists are Nardesh Adurty, Mark Christopher, J.J. Curry, Michael Jachims, Wesley Johnson, Joe Latham, Jay Legend, Devin Papayiannis, Luke Trotta, John Turkle, and Dewayne Williams.

Harte could still announce additional wildcard entrants.

West Division semifinals are scheduled for Nov. 16 at the Tampa Improv.

Related Videos

Leave a Comment